AGM announced

The ASR's Annual General Meeting will be held on a marvellous Tuesday evening in Melbourne.  For details see the latest News under 'What's On'. 

Annual General Meeting

The Australian Society of Rheology's Annual General Meeting will be held on Tuesday, 22 July 2014 at 19:30.  This coincides with the upcoming Pacific Rim Conference on Rheology in Melbourne, with the dinner following on from the poster session on the Tuesday evening.


22 July 2014. Dinner starting at 19:30

Universal Italian Restaurant (upstairs function room)

139–141 Lygon St, Carlton 3053, (03) 9347 4393, www.universalrestaurant.com.au

$25 per person (antipasto, salads and gourmet pizza, includes soft drinks).

Please email the Secretary (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) before the 18th of July if you are able to attend to confirm numbers.

The official AGM proceedings will be a short component of the evening, including annual reports from the out-going President Mark Coghill and the Treasurer Russell Varley, followed by council elections. 


Council is seeking nominations for council membership.  Council membership is limited to 12 people.  Nominations are open for all positions (except Immediate Past President). The positions include President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer and Webmaster. Please note that members who have served on council for 4 years and have not held an office bearer position are not eligible for re-election for a fifth consecutive year.  We are seeking both new nominations and expressions of interest from existing council members.  In particular, we are looking for PhD students and Industry members to sit on the council.  Nominations must be seconded by one other person (e-mail will do).  The deadline for receiving nominations is one week before the AGM, i.e. Tuesday, 15 July 2014.  Nominations will then be circulated to members to allow members who cannot attend the AGM to vote for council members by proxy.


Note that the AGM is an excellent opportunity to pay your annual society subscriptions, so bring your money with you and you can sleep easy for the next 12 months.

We look forward to seeing many members, both old and new, at the AGM. 

Thirtieth anniversary of the ASR honoured by SRJ

Hiroshi Watanabe presented a Cloisonné ( an art craft glazed with water glass on a metal base) from the Society of Rheology, Japan, to honour the ASR’s 30th Anniversary.

The presentation was made at the 6th Pacific Rim Conference on Rheology dinner, held in Melbourne. 

Hiroshi Watanabe presenting the Cloisonné to Dr. Rahul Gupta, incoming President of the ASR.

Hiroshi Watanabe with Dr. Rahul Gupta, who is holding up the commemorative anniversary gift.

Prof. Tam Sridhar receives ASR Medallion

Mark Coghill presented the Australian Society of Rheology Medallion to Professor Tam Sridhar at the 6th Pacific Rim Conference on Rheology dinner.

Professor Tam Sridhar is the fifth recipient of the medallion sculptured by Michael Meszaros, which is awarded by the society to Australian rheologists who are internationally recognised for their contribution to rheology science and technology, and their contribution and service to the society.

Professor Sridhar gained international recognition through the development of the filament-stretching rheometer and the test fluid M1. He  has played a significant role  in nurturing the rheology community in Australia, and forging of international strategic educational relationships.  Tam Sridhar has been involved with the Australian Society of Rheology from its earliest days, and was the society’s president from 1997 to 1999. He was also the founding co-editor of the Korea-Australia Rheology Journal, and remained its editor from 1999 to 2004.

Attendees at the 6th Pacific Rim Conference on Rheology dinner, including Prof. Sridhar (centre). 

ASR President Dr. Mark Coghill presenting the ASR Medallion to Prof. Tam Sridhar.

2014 ASR AGM report


Twelve members were elected unopposed to the new ASR Council. We thank Prof. Peter Scales and Prof. Billy Todd for their longstanding contributions as they move on.  We welcome new Council members Mr. Adam Crust and Miss. Flora Markis.

Outgoing President's message

Dr. Mark Coghill spoke at the AGM as he stepped down after serving as President of the ASR:

Our society was formed 31 years old and relies on people volunteering their time to achieve its goals of promoting and advancing rheology in Australia.
Thus I wish thank the society’s council members and the everyone involved in the lecture evenings held in Melbourne and Perth. I also wish to thank Peter Scales and the 6th Pacific Rim Conference on Rheology committee for organising an excellent event.
Our constitution states that “a member shall not be eligible for the office of President for more than two consecutive years”. Therefore, I need to step down and congratulate Rahul Gupta for accepting the president position. 

Incoming President's message

Dr. Rahul Gupta was elected unopposed as President, and provided the following statement:

As incoming President of the ASR, I would like to welcome you all. I am deeply honoured to serve as President of this society for the coming term. I would like to build up the society's network with industry and encourage you all to be involved for the advancement of the ASR's profile and relevance with industry. My sincere thanks to outgoing President, Mark Coghill, for his excellent work carried out as ASR president for last two years. I am sure the ASR will continue to benefit from his experience and service for broadening the outcome of our society.

Login Form

A formal membership to the ASR requires the completion of a membership application form before an online account can be activated. See rheology.org.au/membership


Powered by Joomla!. Designed by: mobile solutions web site Valid XHTML and CSS.